JUST BEFORE LEAVING BOSTON FOR MINNEAPOLIS…AGAIN

Just before leaving Boston for Minneapolis…Again

By: Casandra Xavier

April, 25, 2016

Just a little background on me before going any further. I was not born in Boston Massachusetts and I was not raised in Miami Florida. I am originally from Miami and I grew up in Boston and went to school, lived a large majority of my life in the city of Boston. Ever since I went to Minneapolis for a while, I have enjoyed it. I would almost consider Minnesota my second home away from home. I’ve made my experience what it was and that consisted of greatness. While I was there in Minneapolis, I’ve gotten used to the layout of the city and their transit system. I liked what I found and I discovered a lot of their APS systems and found it easier to navigate. Once I came back to Boston, I’ve never felt the same. Boston was missing something and was incredibly intense for me the moment I boarded the aircraft. The traveling systems between both states differed greatly. I believe they could trade some pointers. Due to the introduction to a different and wonderfully unique setting, I found myself wanting to return to the twin cities and remaining there forever. I bounced around the globe pretty much like a ping-pong ball. Not a day has gone by where the last state departure was on my mind.

I received a letter in my email talking about finally making the streets of Boston safer for those who are disabled as they try to cross a street. I remembered being part of that movement. I remembered the constant State House visits and speaking to people that were hard to get. I got my message across and they took me seriously and actually tried to make things work. After several calls and visits, I got calls that my requests were granted. I wanted more of the Boston streets to be more accessible. Me and hundreds of people wanted to be able to cross the street without the fear of getting ran over because the APS signals were not meeting our needs. The APS acronyms are shortened for Audible Pedestrian Signals. I have gone to Perkins listening sessions to let that concern be known. I told them about my experiences and how many people would be happy to no longer fear crossing streets. I did not want to make this all about me. I kept this as a general topic as it should have been.

During my time at the state house in March, I spoke to a few legislators about the current accessibility issues a lot of blind and visually impaired individuals come across, during the conversation, we were exchanging contact information so that the issues could be fixed. While I I spoke, there was a man from the Boston area as well who came to advocate. As I patiently listened to him speak, he went on a total rampage and went far off topic. He was wasting our time and his own time as well. I realized some of the legislators were getting tired of him and started offering him lots of chocolate without wrappers to help shut him up a little. We all thought we’d get away from this overly loquacious man but the chocolate didn’t work. Instead, he was fueled on by the instant sugar high. I’ve met this talkative man before and I have never had enough ear to listen to him talking for days on end. However, someone else had to interrupt him once he retrieved a pair of worn sleep shades from his blazer pocket, while he did that, he also handed the legislator his white cane as well. Mr. Talkative said, “Here, put on my shades and lets go cross State Street and let you get an idea of how it is to be blind,” I felt everyone’s attention turn to the guy that wouldn’t stop talking. I interjected instantly, “Sir, now is not the time and nor are you a certified O&M instructor to be asking him to simulate blindness. This is a critical time right now,” I heard others agreeing with me because we all wanted and needed to move on from the doorway of his office. The guy that talked too much and for too long interrupted a lot of people while they spoke and I hated that about him. He reminded me of Chris Matthews from the political analyzing on television. I’ve listened to him cut people off in mid-sentence plenty of times and I am sure those sitting beside him got annoyed at him for that. One entire day later, I received a call from a few men and women from the Massachusetts State House telling me that they were going to correct those situations, all I needed to do was provide the exact street names and I did just what they asked of me. I am aware that these situations were not overnight cases and they required time. I was glad that the situation was addressed and quickly taken care of. I sat down and basked in the glory that something good happened after all of the visits to that location ended. I even participated in Deaf-Blind Awareness Day continuing to advocate for APS accessibility. Later that afternoon, I get a text from the guy that talks a lot saying how they never called or took down his information. He got “hot potato-ed” instead and we all knew the reason why and that was because he didn’t get to the point with his request. If I ever make an appearance to the Massachusetts State House, it had to be serious and important. Once I had access to the person I need to speak to, I get my message across the board with all valid reasoning and then I leave once a discussion is had and an agreement is made. I hate wasting time.

I was not sure how to feel about actually having something done in a short time frame. I was surprised that it happened. I was expecting the typical turn away tactic they use regarding money issues. I was also prepared to make their dismissal of that important request difficult as well. I am always ready for any outcome that goes against something I feel is appropriate. With all of the viable reasoning that was provided, there was no way they could turn my request down. Little do they know that I would be leaving the state soon right after all of this is over, our future street crossers with all kinds of disabilities would be able to cross a street at last.

 As I plan for a return to the Twin Cities, I think of all the good things I could go back to at last. I am limited to a lot of things. In Minnesota, I can access a lot of my surroundings. I could go wherever I want without needing to ask someone for a lift or report to anyone. I feel like it has become a rather arduous task to be booking transportation to different towns in Boston. It is annoying. I am going to work incredibly hard to the point where I could hire a personal driver. I usually accomplish all of the goals that I set out. I am realistic about those goals. I understand that they are not overnight happenings and that everything good requires hard work and time. I will be living in Minneapolis where all of the buses and trains are available to me, I would be accessing any and everything that I need from that point on. My stress levels will go away and I won’t get stress headaches because I get freaked out about the way transit systems work.

Living in Boston for me has become a physical hazard whenever the thought of transportation and crossing streets come into the scene. I have experienced some of both cities and I like the other city better for the sake of access and resources. I also feel like it has been long over due for a change in space and scenery for myself. As I arrange myself for a permanent transition to Minnesota, I can almost feel the relief that I can go back to again.

No offense to my friends and family in Boston, Massachusetts but you’ve got to understand that my world and yours will never be the same. I am a deaf/blind woman living among a large sited and hearing population and I have to make changes if I want them badly. Massachusetts has been a great source of education for me during my academic career but Minnesota will officially be the best fit for me. Should you wish to see me, get on an aircraft and come find me in south east Minneapolis. You’re more than welcome to come see me.

Leave a comment